Programs

2018—2019 AAUW Branch Meeting Programs

Monthly branch meetings will be on Tuesdays, 11:30 AM til 1 PM unless otherwise specified, and held at the First Baptist Church, 5 Oak St. downtown Asheville unless otherwise specified.

Sept. 9, 2018—Sunday–Picnic in the Park members pot-luck get-together at West Asheville Park at 11 Vermont Ave. Asheville 3—6 PM

Oct. 23, ’18   Advocacy/Public Policy committee: speaker Johanna Manasse on “Voting for Impact”

Nov. 27, ’18   Equity committee: speaker Marta Alcala-Williams on the Marvelous Math Club and Motheread groups

Dec. ’18—NO meeting

Jan. 22, 2019   STEM committee:  speaker Cindy Stephens on “Nursing, STEM and Politics”

Feb. 26, ’19   College Coordination committee: speaker Jan  Huskey on “Workforce Dilemmas for Women”

March 26, ‘19   “Shape the Future” campaign and BPR/WCQS speaker Barbara Sayer, Program Director, on “Womens’ Voices on the Radio”

April 23, ’19    Elections to board and speaker from WNC Women magazine, editor Sandi Tomlin-Sutker on “Women in Business”

May 17, ’19   Field Trip Surprise—-lunch at local restaurant and visit-location to be announced Feb. 2019

Contacts for Special Interest Groups (SIG’s)

SIG Coordinators: Linda Stover  704-905-6530 (C )

lindalstover@gmail.com Bette Feingold 828-989-6770 (H) bettefeingold@gmail.com

 Advocacy Group-Anne Sayers 919-302-0084 (C) annesayers432@gmail.com

Upstreamers-Barbara Robinson 828-645-2569  baritar16@gmail.com

CAB Book Group- Anne Reis 269-492-5298 (C) annereis2@sbcglobal.net

Film Buds-Beth Ellers 828-628-1834 (H) slark1@att.net

Film Fans-Beth Johnson 828-299-7109 (H) Johnson@buncombe.main.nc.us

History Group-Sherry Brown 828-357-8455 (H) sherrysaerie@gmail.com

Int’l Dining Group– Jeanne Smolkin 828-254-4789 (H) jsmolkin@gmail.com

Lunch Bunch– Sherry Brown 828-357-8455 (H) sherrysaerie@gmail.com

Photography Group-Lynette Miller  828-357-8455 (H)  LCM353@gmail.com

Tea Time Book Group-Juanita Spanogle 828-258-0096 (H) jspanogle@aol.com

Webmaster – Molly Keeney 828-337-5044 (C) mollykeeney@gmail.com